Recommitting to losing stomach fat

Mid-week mantra: If you’re tired of starting over, stop giving up!

I have to remind myself of that a lot lately. Getting to the gym has become increasingly difficult- we’re so busy in the evenings that getting to bed so a 5 AM wake-up call doesn’t kill us, is proving impossible. Plus our bed is so comfy and the 12 minute drive to the gym (and the fact that our gym isn’t really all that great) just adds to the daunting nature of the task.

Every morning I try to remind myself- you always feel better when you do, something is better than nothing AND come next week, when the real estate classes start, you’re going to find that you’re not going to be able to get into the gym like you want. Sometimes it works; sometimes it doesn’t. I need to make it easier to make time to work out in the evenings if I am forced to skip the morning session. I’m trying- I really am. Any tips??

Refocus on your goals. What are you really trying to achieve? Are you trying to lose 20 pounds? Get a 6 pack? Run a marathon?

I’m trying to lose fat and gain muscle, specifically in my midsection. It’s not my weight I’m concerned about- I want muscular toned arms, legs, butt and stomach (I’m not trying for one of those creepy body-builder 6 packs though). Adding up these tips and tricks we’ve discussed can help- but I know I need to be doing more. Which is where getting into the gym consistently comes in. I’m going to look up 5Ks in the area- even a small race can help me stay focused and make sure I commit to some cardio every week, but I know I need to ramp up my strength training more.

Quick reminder about a simple tip that we’ve already discussed & that is very easy to do and really does make a difference but many people still neglect it:

  • WATER! I drink a lot of water during work- at least a gallon. But I am also going to start carrying water everywhere I go. I will fill up my S’well bottle before I get in the car to run errands, road trip out to a friend’s house, whatever! I hate being thirsty and it really can stave off hunger.

Now for a new tip:

  • Color your plate. Every time you eat a meal or a snack there should be COLOR (beige and white or cream are not colors just as an FYI). Hummus and pita chips? BLAND. Add carrots and/or peppers. Chicken and pasta? BLAND. Throw some spinach into the pasta or put the chicken over a bed of sauteed spinach. Cheese and crackers? BLAND. Add some sliced tomatoes. Every meal or snack needs to have a bright color- you’ll automatically be making a healthy choice that way.

Yesterday’s food journal

Breakfast- 3 egg omelette with 2 Laughing Cow cheese wedges and smoked salmon

Coffee

Late morning snack- Apple & peanut butter

Green tea

Lunch- regular salad

Mid-afternoon snack- carrots & cucumber slices with sundried tomato hummus

Pre-dinner snack- cashews and 2 dried dates 

Dinner- Pork cutlets with roasted broccoli and homemade crispy breadcrumbs (made from panko & parmesan cheese). Pineapple for dessert.

Leave a Reply

